Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Taeko Ohnuki - Sunshower, MIGNONNE, ROMANTIQUE

Three early albums from the fantastic Taeko Ohnuki courtesy if JPDDL. These albums cover the best of the popular genres of the latter 70's and early 80's. Sunshow and Mignonne hold a Jazzy/disco feel with Romantique dabbling in new wave/synth soundscapes while maintaining her jazzy roots. There's upbeat atmosphere in the albums you just don't get anymore and it makes me highly nostalgic for a time I was regrettably not alive in haha! ROMANTIQUE is my favorite of the three but there is something for everyone in these.  

If anyone has her debut any others that have yet to be posted, please share the wealth! I truly hope all my visitors are well and healthy and I hope to get to requests and such in the near future. Enjoy!

Sunshower (1977)

3. 何もいらない
4. 都会
5. からっぽの椅子
7. 誰のために
10. 振子の山羊
11. サマー.コネクション
12. 部屋
13. 荒涼


1. じゃじゃ馬娘
2. 横顔
3. 黄昏れ
4. 空をとべたら
5. 風のオルガン
6. 言いだせなくて
7. 4:00 A.M.
8. 突然の贈りもの
9. 海と少年
10. あこがれ


2. ディケイド.ナイト *
3. 雨の夜明け
4. 若き日の望楼 *
6. 果てなき旅情
7. ふたり
8. 軽蔑
9. 新しいシャツ
10. 蜃気楼の街
11. 愛にすくわれたい

Sunday, August 24, 2014

Frank Chickens - We Are Frank Chickens

No words to describe, just sit back, listen and enjoy!

We Are Frank Chickens (1984)

1. Cheeba Cheeba Chimpira
2. Mothra
3. Green Banana
4. Madam Fatal
5. We Are Ninja
6. Yellow Detective
7. Shellfish Bamboo
8. Pikadon
9. We Are Frank Chickens
10. Sake Ballad

Monday, August 4, 2014

Akira Mitake - Out Of Reach

Solo debut from ex Ippu-do keyboard/violinist, Akira Mitake. The album is very much a continuation of the group's sound with a mix of a Yukihiro Takahashi album. Ippu-do fans keep an ear out for the first track "Violation" which was also performed on the "Live & Zen" LP and also for a great Culture Club cover! It's definitely a vinyl rip and courtesy of the defunct "Music Blog of Saltyka and His Friends". 

If anyone is interested I also have the soundtrack he did for the Android Kikaider anime series. Enjoy! 

Out Of Reach (1983)

3. ロンリー・マン
4. モダン・システム
8. ホールド・オン・ミー
10. 君は完璧さ

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Logic System - Venus

Hideaki Matsutake, also known under the moniker Logic System, is a synth musician/programer who is responsible for this superb synth masterpiece. Beginning his career working as an assistant under Isao Tomita (Asia's pioneering voice in electronic music IMHO) and then moving onto technical work as an unoffical 4th member throughout YMO's early career, Matsutake not only has talent but the credentials to assure any skeptic of his accomplishments in the genre. Logic System is a somewhat of a solo project for Matsutake, however much of his work is collaborated upon with other musicians, programmers and producers.

Venus, Logic's System's second LP, was released only a few short months after his debut album and is miles ahead in my opinion. Don't get me wrong, while I love the self titled debut, his distinct style mixed with an r&b/ital disco flair trumps the prog/spacey/kraftwerk-esque he began with. If you're interested in hearing not only his debut but 3rd release as well, head over to JJ's DOWN TO DA BONE!

I found this one on a now defunct blog about 3 years ago and I am really appreciative that I stumbled upon it! I'm pretty sure it's a vinyl rip but it definitely sounds great. I'm a big fan of early electro/dance music and if you're a fan of YMO, I think you'll dig this one too! Enjoy!

Venus (1981)

1. Venus
2. Morpheus
3. I Love You
4. Plan
5. Take A Chance
6. Automatic Collect, Automatic Correct
7. Be Yourself
8. Prophet
9. Metamorphism
10. Equivalent

Thursday, July 3, 2014

The Beatniks - Existentialism

Finally found employment about a month ago and have been busy trying to settle into things. I have a long list of requests and posts to get to and I hope all my visitors have been well!  I have a good amount of files already uploaded, now its just putting the posts together. Life has been strange the last three years since I started this blog and hopefully more stability will be in my future... 

Many thanks to Fen, Corwyn, JJ and others for continuing the spirt of the blog world and reminding me to stop being lazy and post more haha! 

The album featured today is a fantastic debut collaboration from two true synth geniuses. Keiichi Suzuki of Moon Riders fame and the "voice and rhythm" of YMO, Yukihiro Takahashi, formed this side project as a tribute to the 50's/60's counter cultural movement known as the beatniks. This underground movement was a powerful force during the time and was seeped in French New Wave motifs. These aspect are featured throughout the album, with the included use of French lyrics. However, the album is unmistakably a product of the minds of the early Japanese new wave movement, with the then modern sounds and the "beatnik" concept pieced together beautifully.

Keeping up even further with the French theme, the album's name "Existentialism" is also derived from the 19th/20th century philosophical movement of the same namesake. In high school I was extremely intrigued by the works of Sartre and Camus, but if any of you have actually sat down and tried to absorb anything from "Being and Nothingness", you know how fruitless that can be haha!

The Beatniks still sporadically release albums, with their last effort seen in 2011. Fortunately I was able to come upon this 3 or 4 years ago on a now defunct blog. Many thanks to the original poster and I truly hope you all enjoy it!

Existentialism (1981)

1. Le Sang Du Poete
2. No Way Out
3. Ark Diamant
4. Now And Then … 
5. Loopy
6. Une Femme N'est Pas Un Homme
7. Mirroris
8. Le Robinet
9. L'Etoile de Mer
10. Inevitable